Tags

I have, somewhat optimistically, created a challenge at Goodreads, setting the bar at 30 books to read this year. After doing a quick check on booklists from previous years I realized the number 30 is indeed very optimistic: on average I usually manage to read 17-22 books as a whole (if it’s a good year). One year, I read as much as 32 books – but that was also the year I studied literature. So I’ll try not to focus too much on this whimsical challenge. At first it’s fun, but then I think, reading shouldn’t be scheduled, what do numbers matter – If I read only two books this year that turn out to be great reading experiences, I’ll be happy!

However, I do have a neverending list of books I would hope to at least get started on this year:

  • Ursula Le Guin: Lavinia
  • Jo Graham: Black Ships
  • Eva Ibbotson: The Morning Gift
  • Eva Ibbotson: A Company of Swans
  • Meg Rosoff: How I Live Now
  • Gustave Flaubert: A Sentimental Education
  • André Gide: Miracle de la rose (in Swedish translation since my French’s not so good, alas)
  • Melissa Bank: The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing
  • Lev Tolstoy: War and Peace
  • Thomas Pynchon: Mason & Dixon
  • Hermann Hesse: The Glass Bead Game
  • Rachel Hartmann: Séraphina
  • Megan Whalen Turner: The Queen’s Thief Series
  • Frances Hardinge: A Fly by Night & Twilight Robbery (I’m so glad to have discovered Frances Hardinge)
  • Dorothy Sayers: The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries
  • Sarah Waters: The Little Stranger (oh, so good!)
  • Émile Zola: Nana
  • John Williams: Stoner
  • Philip Pullman: His Dark Materials (this would be a nostalgic re-read)
  • Eva Rice: The Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp (this was also a summer read)
  • Susan Choi: My Education (I somehow felt underwhelmed by this one)
  • Maria McCann: As Meat Loves Salt
  • Sasha Grey: The Juliette Society
  • Diana Athill: Yesterday Morning
  • Margaret Atwood: The Blind Assassin
  • Charlotte Rogan: The Lifeboat (read during summer, I’ll probably write about it soon)
  • Hilary McKay: The Casson Family-series

Three more books are on the list, namely: Agneta Pleijel: Lord Nevermore, Kristina Sandberg: Sörja för de sina (‘To care for one’s own’ (UPDATE: 2014-11-17: I’ve read it now and oh! What Kristina Sandberg does here, in chronicling the life of a Swedish housewife during the 40’s and 50’s, with all the details, the small (and great) pains, thoughts, dreams, words… is amazing and heartbreaking at the same time.  If she is ever translated into English, be sure to check her out), Ingrid Carlberg: ”Det står ett rum här och väntar på dig” – Berättelsen om Raoul Wallenberg (‘There is a room here waiting for you’ – The Story of Raoul Wallenberg), but since they’re all in Swedish and not translated to English, I include them separately.

I’m sure there are lots of gems to discover here! I’ve read one book this year already, Anton DiSclafani’s The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls, which I’ll try to write about shortly. As for the list, I’ve started to read Eva Ibbotson’s The Morning Gift, so, so far so good. :)

EDIT: The list will be updated continously with new additions, and marks when I’ve read a book.

