Tags

,

ImageImage

I have never read anything by Margaret Atwood and considering all the praise she gets, and how interesting her literary career looks, checking her out is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while.

And now, one tremendously interesting and beautiful (look at those covers, I can’t even decide which one I like the best!) book by her has presented itself on my horizon: The Blind Assassin

“The Blind Assassin opens with these simple, resonant words: “Ten days after the war ended, my sister Laura drove a car off a bridge.” They are spoken by Iris, whose terse account of her sister’s death in 1945 is followed by an inquest report proclaiming the death accidental. But just as the reader expects to settle into Laura’s story, Atwood introduces a novel-within-a-novel. Entitled The Blind Assassin,” it is a science fiction story told by two unnamed lovers who meet in dingy backstreet rooms. When we return to Iris, it is through a 1947 newspaper article announcing the discovery of a sailboat carrying the dead body of her husband, a distinguished industrialist. Brilliantly weaving together such seemingly disparate elements, Atwood creates a world of astonishing vision and unforgettable impact.”

Seals the deal for me (meaning it gets a solid place on the great list). Also, I love book-in-a-book stories!

